Sparkassen-Environment-Prize

As a non-profit institution under public law, the Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen feels responsible not only for the citizens and institutions in its business area, but also for the general public beyond its business boundaries. For this reason, and in agreement with the then University of Fridericiana Karlsruhe, the Sparkasse Karlsruhe established a foundation on 29 October 1979 to promote outstanding scientific work that serves the common good, especially the solution of environmental protection problems.

42nd call for entries for the Sparkassen- Environment-Prize

The Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen has always felt close ties not only to its customers, but also, in accordance with its public mandate, to the population, the companies and institutions in its business area. For more than 200 years, this has also found expression in a strong orientation towards the common good. For this reason, and in agreement with the then University of Fridericiana Karlsruhe, Sparkasse Karlsruhe established a foundation on 29 October 1979 to promote outstanding scientific work that serves the common good, in particular the solution of environmental protection problems. In 2021, the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Environmental Foundation of the Sparkasse Karlsruhe will award the Sparkassen-Environment-Prize for the 42nd time.

The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Environment Foundation of the Sparkasse Karlsruhe award a total of

15.000 €

for outstanding work related to environmentally relevant topics. The prize is awarded in the categories:

  • Dissertations
  • (Diploma) theses and master's theses

Applications are invited via the KIT Climate and Environment Centre. Applications should be submitted digitally to the office of the KIT Climate and Environment Centre via the respective supervisors with the following attachments:

Digital:

  • comprehensible abstract of the thesis (1 page)
  • Letter of recommendation
  • Endorsement of the faculty
  • Expert opinion (first and, if applicable, second expert opinion)
  • Curriculum vitae with scientific background
  • List of publications
  • Thesis

In principle, applicants should have completed their work after 01 July 2020. Please note that we ask the submitting supervisors to review two of the submitted papers.

The deadline for applications is 23 July 2021.

It is expected that in December 2021, following a pre-selection by a selection committee, the Environmental Advisory Board of the Environment Foundation of the Sparkasse Karlsruhe will decide on the awarding of the prizes. The award winners will be informed at the beginning of next year. The award ceremony is scheduled for summer 2022.

Sparkassen-Umwelt-Preis

Die Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen als gemeinnützige Anstalt des öffentlichen Rechts fühlt sich nicht nur den Bürgern und Einrichtungen in ihrem Geschäftsbereich verantwortlich, sondern darüber hinaus auch der breiten Öffentlichkeit über die Geschäftsgrenzen hinweg. Aus diesem Grunde und im Einvernehmen mit der damaligen Universität Fridericiana Karlsruhe errichtete die Sparkasse Karlsruhe am 29. Oktober 1979 eine Stiftung zur Förderung hervorragender wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten, die dem Allgemeinwohl, insbesondere der Lösung von Umweltschutzproblemen dienen.

42. Ausschreibung des Sparkassen-Umwelt-Preises

Die Sparkasse Karlsruhe Ettlingen fühlt sich nicht nur seit jeher ihren Kundinnen und Kunden eng verbunden, sondern, entsprechend ihrem öffentlichen Auftrag, auch der Bevölkerung, den Unternehmen und Einrichtungen ihres Geschäftsgebietes. Seit mehr als 200 Jahren findet dies auch Ausdruck in einer hohen Gemeinwohlorientierung. Aus diesem Grunde und im Einvernehmen mit der damaligen Universität Fridericiana Karlsruhe errichtete die Sparkasse Karlsruhe am 29. Oktober 1979 eine Stiftung zur Förderung hervorragender wissenschaftlicher Arbeiten, die dem Allgemeinwohl, insbesondere der Lösung von Umweltschutzproblemen dienen. Bereits zum 42. Mal loben das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Umweltstiftung der Sparkasse Karlsruhe im Jahr 2021 den Sparkassen-Umwelt-Preis aus.

Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT) und die Umweltstiftung der Sparkasse Karlsruhe vergeben insgesamt

15.000 €

für hervorragende Arbeiten mit Bezug zu umweltrelevanten Themen. Der Preis wird vergeben in den Kategorien:

  • Dissertationen
  • (Diplomarbeiten und) Masterarbeiten
     

Die Ausschreibung erfolgt über das KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt. Bewerbungen sollen über die jeweiligen Betreuer mit folgenden Anlagen digital bei der Geschäftsstelle des KIT-Zentrums Klima und Umwelt eingereicht werden:

  • verständliche Kurzfassung der Arbeit (1 Seite)
  • Empfehlungsschreiben
  • Befürwortung der Fakultät
  • Gutachten (Erst- und ggf. Zweitgutachten)
  • Lebenslauf mit wissenschaftlichem Werdegang
  • Publikationsliste
  • Arbeit

Die Bewerber/innen sollten ihre Arbeiten grundsätzlich nach dem 01. Juli 2020 abgeschlossen haben. Bitte beachten Sie, dass wir die einreichenden Betreuer darum bitten, zwei der eingereichten Arbeiten zu begutachten.

Bewerbungsschluss ist der 23. Juli 2021.

Voraussichtlich im Dezember 2021 wird nach einer Vorauswahl durch eine Auswahlkommission der Umweltbeirat der Umweltstiftung der Sparkasse Karlsruhe über die Vergabe der Preise entscheiden. Anfang kommenden Jahres werden die Preisträger informiert. Die Preisverleihung ist für Sommer 2022 vorgesehen.